Food-venturing in Miami: Day Four

It seems as if the culinary/home cooking gods simply weren’t working in our favor for the past few days, though the morning came with the hope of, yet again, redemption. Perhaps we weren’t destined for desserts – so, Nick and I decided to try our hand at breakfast. Cheese soufflés. After making my fair share of them, I figured they shouldn’t be too difficult to make – right?

Our Whole Foods expedition the night prior ended in us bringing pecorino cheese and shimeji mushrooms home, so we tossed them together in a béchamel flavored with allspice and tarragon, and whipped up a soufflé that was actually quite delicious. Victory tastes good.

Photo by Jedd Marrero
Photo by Jedd Marrero

The only caveat to this trip is that I keep forgetting that there’s homework to be done (and a huge slew of midterms coming up), so we decided to be ‘productive’ and get some work done at a coffee shop. Of course, we had to pick up some pastries to eat prior to our study session, so we headed to Versailles, a Cuban restaurant (misleading, I know) that had a bakery extension.

Photo by Jedd Marrero
Photo by Jedd Marrero

We got two empanadas and two guava pastelitos to go, made a quick pit stop at a Dollar Tree to get supplies for our DIY Rocky Horror outfits (more on that later), and headed to Vice City Bean to get our study grind on. I came in with the intent of caffeinating myself, though they served passion fruit kombucha on tap, which overrided any desire for coffee.

Though I intended to catch up on math homework along with some other group work for my classes, I ended up spending a hefty amount of time researching how to brew kombucha at home – which, I’ve debated on doing many times before, though it isn’t exactly something I want to be concocting in my apartment with three other people.

Photo by Jedd Marrero
Photo by Jedd Marrero

While the drink was a bit more on the acidic side, it was much needed and perfectly tart – both from the natural fermentation and the passion fruit flavor.

Despite the fact that it’s slightly obnoxious (or at least frowned upon) to eat food from other restaurants in another establishment, my guava pastelito was waiting for me. The dough was very similar to a puff pastry, with lots of flaky layers and a sticky, sweet exterior. Deep inside was a pocket of guava paste, which I’m beginning to grow really fond of, actually.

Photo by Jedd Marrero
Photo by Jedd Marrero

We ventured home, and right before we headed to the Rocky Horror showing, we cooked up some fish tacos that brought back good memories of a delicious place back in New York. Nick pickled some red onions, added the leftover Thai curry from last night into a slaw, and I helped make the batter for the fried fish. Overall, a very satisfying and delicious meal.

Photo by Jedd Marrero
Photo by Jedd Marrero

On a less-food related side note, I’ve seen the Rocky Horror Picture Show a few times on TV and online, but never in a live setting, though I’ve always heard about and read how they were amazing experiences. My first show was interesting to say the least, but altogether fun, despite the rice, breadcrumbs, and confetti that got stuck in my hair. A great (and different) way to end my trip to Miami, which has been one of the most memorable trips that I’ve ever taken, thanks to having two awesome tour guides and an awesome cousin to accompany me. Till next time – (but really, till I accumulate enough funds to travel more).

One thought on “Food-venturing in Miami: Day Four

Leave a Reply

